ii Transitioned

**Curl Talk Wiith…

And you are?    Tashyia 
 

How long have you been on your Natural Journey?   2 years 

Why did you decide to go Natural?   I decided to go natural because one of my friends who is now a hair dresser said to me “relaxers are so last year” (shoutout to Rodnique) ((: No but seriously, I realized that my hair wasn’t growing nor getting any thicker and I was getting relaxers every 5 weeks which is entirely too often. I first stopped coloring it and soon after stop relaxing it as well and instantly seen the texture of hair change. My initial idea was to get locs but I tried it for a couple of months and changed my mind. I changed my mind about locking my hair not about being natural.
 

What is your current regimen and what are your favorite products?   I am natural but I don’t engage often in the whole ‘fro’ thing. I’ve tried it a few times and personally I like my hair straightened better. I do the protective styles every so often by getting Senegalese braids or doing 2 french braids on my own. I’m not too familiar with all the products available to us natural women but i do like cantu oil and regular olive oil.

What is the best thing about being Natural?  The best thing about being natural is that as black women we can finally choose whether to wear our hair curly one day and bone straight the next. There is much more versatility with being natural and the thickness of my hair is so rewarding. It may take a little longer to do and a little more expensive to get it done but i swear its worth every minute and penny. I will never get another relaxer.

Any words of encouragement for the newbies? Words of encouragement from myself to a newbie would be just to stick with it. It’s very rewarding! 

((that’s my siis!…yup iit’s a family affair :)))

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Danie on October 31, 2011 - 10:54 pm

    Your hair is looking soo healthy, Love it.

Leave a Reply

