Three Social Media Pet Peeves

 

via Clutch Magazine 

We live in a day and time where most of us live our lives on the internet, more specifically we live our lives via social media.  From Facebook posts to Twitter rants, many of us can’t help but stay connected this way.  Even I’m virtually attached various forms of social media and have been found guilty of sleeping next to my phone so I can check Twitter timelines during my late night bathroom breaks.  However lately I’ve been becoming increasingly irked by the habits of friends and “friends” I interact with online.  Some of their social media behaviors simply drive me up the wall and I find myself wanting to scream at the screen.  I know I can’t be the only one annoyed by some of these bad habits.  Check out a few that made the top of my pet peeve list, I guarantee you’ll feel my pain.

People Who Misuse Twitter RT
These people drive me to drink some days.  You’re going along reading your timeline filled with news, gossip and some hilarious commentary by friends and then someone creeps in with the sole purpose of retweeting all the nice things people say about them.  You know:

Awww thanks hun RT @sugarbabe @Miami_Mami10 is such a great chef…love her pancakes!

You know it! RT @sugarbabe @Miami_Mami10 is so sweet and focused…love her!

You never see them in your timeline any other time, but let someone give them a complement and they flood your screen for an hour with the retweets.  Then there are the people who retweet private conversations:

Maybe, what time you leaving? RT @sugarbabe @Miami_Mami10 You want to go to the mall?

Okay cool, Im going to catch the train now RT @sugarbabe @Miami_Mami10 In like a half.

I know it’s just Twitter, but why, just why must people annoy me daily with this stupidness, ugh!  I feel like retweeting a picture of me slapping them with a Twitter handbook.

Constant Facebook Status Updates….About Nothing!
Facebook is a place to interact and connect with family and friends and with that connecting you find that there is a need to update your status so that people know what’s going on.  Cool, I got that.  However, if all you did was eat Cheerios and take a nap you don’t need to update your status with that!  I’m so sick of going on Facebook and seeing people do this:

1:00pm  I’m so bored, maybe I should eat.

1:35pm  Shoutout to the cutie in Chipotle for my FREE lunch.  Get like me b*#tches!

2:30pm  Time for a nap, I’m so over being at work.

3:15pm I’m ready to go!

4:45pm breaking out this spot early to go see my boo…don’t hate!!

What?!  Why the hell do you need to update your status this much?  There needs to be some kind of status update maximum and maybe some categories that folk can choose from because the mundane randomness is killing me.

The Fakers
This is really a general pet peeve, but social media just puts more of a spotlight on it. Have you ever read the profiles of a friend or close associate you have on Twitter or Facebook and learned that they are an “Entrepreneur/Writer/Publicist/ DJ and dog lover?”

Huh?

Last time you checked they were a receptionist at a real estate company, hated dogs, gave up when playing DJ Hero, and never even wrote thank you cards.  Publicist?  Writer?  Where the hell did this made up life come from?  And to make it worse they go extra hard online promoting and retweeting and sending links and other people are actually buying into the nonsense!  You want to air them out so bad, but instead you just sit back and watch them create this fictional world around them.  I’m not sure what it is about social media that says to some people “Hey your real life sucks so come here and live a fake one,” but that’s the message tons of people are hearing and it’s simple ridiculous.

*ii know this has nothing to do with natural hair but ii thought it was hella funny!…and TRUE! *

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

