ii Big Chopped

**Curl Talk With…

 
 
 
 
And you are?  I am the naturalista. I am the girl next door… I am just BnNappy of the Chocolate Hair Affair 
 
How long have you been on your Natural Journey? I began my Journey in October 2010. I slowly transitioned using flex rods and bantu knot outs until I was able to build my courage up to actually do the big chop! I big chopped on May 20th, 2011. I am now 7 months completely natural, with a little over 1 year of natural growth. 
 
Why did you decide to go Natural? I wish that I had a wonderful story of broken off hair, bad edges, scalp sores from perms… but I don’t. I went natural just b/c I had never seen my natural texture ever. Here I am 27 years old, and I have never touched my natural hair, other than new growth right before a perm. I went natural b/c I couldn’t find a good reason not to. And since I’ve been natural, I still can’t find a reason not to be. 
 
What is your current regimen and what are your favorite products? My current regimen… as if I have one. LOL. I currently wash once a month with either Ms. Jessies super Sudsy shampoo or Aubrey organics. I deep condition with Herbal Essence Hello Hydration mixed with EVOO and honey. I cowash with Herbal Essence Hello Hydration. I am currently using KeraCare Natural Textures Leave in Conditioner and sealing with Castor Oil. I pineapple to preserve my styles, and I spritz with water every other day. 
 
I am currently wearing protective styles: Twist Outs, Braids outs, and I can see the growth spurt. I love my regimen and I love my hair. 
 
 
What is the best thing about being Natural? LOL!! Where to start… I can get my hair wet in the ocean, the shower, a thunderstorm.. and not panic about how to style my hair!!  I no longer have to run from the rain LOL! What would normally be a bad hair day, can easily be fixed with a cute puff, a wash n’ go, or a twist out.
 
Any words of encouragement for the newbies? Be You!! Learn You!! What YOU like… it’s nice to know what others are doing, but discover yourself first. There’s a lesson to be learned when you go on a quest to discover what works for you… It’s an amazing journey. Let confidence and natural beauty be your accessory. Even on a bad hair day… confidence can make a bad braid out look so amazingly beautiful. Some days, a product will work. Some days it won’t. Some days people will give you wonderful compliments, some days they wont. But you know what… Life goes on!! Go with it! 
 
 
 
 
 
, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

